# **Dual-Anonymous Review Workshop**



### Wednesday, September 25, 2019

#### Location:

#### Space Telescope Science Institute, Baltimore, Maryland

#### **Description:**

STScl has implemented a dual-anonymous proposal system for the HST proposal review process. Under this system, not only are proposers unaware of the identity of the members on the review panel, but the reviewers do not have explicit knowledge of the proposal teams. The goal is to mitigate unconscious bias and allow reviewers to concentrate on the science rather than the scientist. Following the successful implementation with HST, the Director of the NASA Astrophysics Division, Paul Hertz, has directed all Astrophysics GO Programs to implement this process. This workshop will share STScl's experiences in developing and implementing the dual-anonymous review process.

This is a one-day workshop. The morning will be devoted to talks and panel discussions covering the development and implementation of the HST process, including feedback from representatives of the community and the Telescope Allocation Committee panels. The afternoon will provide an opportunity for representatives from other observatories and missions to explore how the process can be adapted for their use.

For further details, please contact Alessandra Aloisi (aloisi@stsci.edu).

## Logistics:

#### Agenda including links to presentations

#### **Participants**

#### **Registration Information**

Please use this link to complete the registration by the September 3, 2019 deadline.

There is no registration fee for the Workshop.

Lunch will be available for purchase the day of the Workshop.

#### Hotel Information

A block of rooms has been reserved at the Doubletree Inn at the Colonnade Hotel located at 4 West University Parkway, Baltimore, MD.

The special Dual-Anonymous group rate will be available until August 23, 2019. To make reservations, contact the Colonnade directly at: 410-235-5400 or use this link.

Group Name:	DUAL ANONYMOUS PROPOSAL
Group Code:	DAP

#### Important Dates

08/23/19 Hotel Room Reservation deadline

09/03/19 Registration deadline

### Organizing Committee

Alessandra Aloisi (POC)

#### Molly Peeples

Neill Reid

Lou Strolger